5 Things Families Will Love About the 2017 Acura MDX

It’s not redesigned but the refreshed 2017 Acura MDX offers potential buyers a host of reason to head to the local lot for a test drive.

It has a new face. Let’s face it, for nearly a decade most RDX and MDX models have looked pretty much the same. New for 2017, Acura has updated the SUV’s face to show the brand’s new diamond pentagon grille that accents a more sculpted hood and sits between new LED fog lights and restyled Jewel Eye headlights. Additional highlights include new chrome rocker panels, a revised rear bumper and new twin tailpipes.

There are new standard features. The 2017 MDX boasts a new list of standard features across all trim levels including Electric Parking Brake with Automatic Brake Hold, Auto High Beam headlights, SiriusXM Radio 2.0 and four 2.5-amp USB charging ports.

Moving from the basic trim level, Technology and Advance packages add Bi-Directional Keyless Remote Engine Start, two new 20-inch wheel and tire options, power folding side mirrors, and HD Traffic. In addition to these features, Advance grades add LED fog lights, genuine Olive Ash Burl or Black Limba wood interior trim, a heated steering wheel and Surround-View Camera System with six selectable viewing angles. Advance models can also be equipped with two second-row captain’s chairs and a center console with two additional USB ports, replacing the three-person second-row seating found on lower grades.  An ultra-widescreen Rear Entertainment System is also available on models with the Advance ENT Package.

There’s a new powertrain and it’s a hybrid. Acura’s three-motor Sport Hybrid SH-AWD powertrain is coming to the 2017 MDX as the MDX Sport Hybrid. The 2017 MDX Sport Hybrid is powered by a 3.0-liter SOHC V-6 engine with Variable Cylinder Management mated to a 7-speed dual clutch transmission with an integrated electric motor powering the front wheels, and a Twin Motor Unit with two electric motors providing power to the rear wheels. The MDX Sport Hybrid is anticipated to receive EPA fuel economy ratings of 25/26/26 (city/highway/combined).


Acura Watch is now standard. Moving in line with what Toyota and Lexus offer, Acura has moved to make the following safety technologies standard throughout their MDX line up:

  • Collision Mitigation Braking System with automatic emergency braking
  • Lane Departure Warning
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keeping Assist
  • Adaptive Cruise Control with Low-Speed Follow
  • Road Departure Mitigation.

You can choose how you drive. Technology and Advance package options will now include Active Sport Suspension that delivers improved ride quality, handling performance and is integrated with the Integrated Dynamics System featuring the dynamic modes of ComfortNormal and Sport, and exclusive to Sport Hybrid models, a new Sport+ mode.


One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s